context research

Homebanner

Mobile Methods

The trend to abandon fixed-line phone lines in favor of mobile phones is ongoing. Only about 50% of households in Austria are equipped with fixed-line phones. In so called “mobile-only” household’s do live especially younger people with low income (source: RTR). In order to reach these potential targets by market research, mobile communication channels offer a valuable approach. Especially the strong growth of mobile Internet use of younger consumers is helpful to get in touch with them by mobile research methods. People who are often abroad for private or business reasons abroad can be easily surveyed with the use of mobile devices, e.g. iPhones, Android-smartphones etc.

Mobile methods make new ways of data collection possible. Mobile Market- and Social Research in its narrower sense is a term for research methods using non-voice functions of smartphones without support of the interviewer i.e. self-completed approach. Mobile Market Research uses the advantages of mobile communication channels to and from people for research purposes.

A crucial quality of mobile methods is its context-sensitive character i.e. the possibility to capture the context and the therefore reaching people in real time situations. Mobile methods perform as instruments for a better understanding of living environment of people.

High speed responses in mobile surveys can be confirmed through several scientific studies. Within the first hour of fieldwork about 50% of total response is likely to be measured. This is due to location- and time-independent answering possibilities of questionnaires on mobile devices. Mobile web-surveys are flexibly filled in with appropriate devices in principle at any location with mobile network coverage or Wi-Fi.

Web-based surveys to be completed on smartphones are accepted as research method already. The invitation to mobile surveys can be done by SMS, E-Mail or passively by QR-Code which scanned by respondent lead to the mobile questionnaire. Links embedded into banner can be integrated into mobile applications to evaluate e.g. usability and acceptance of the application. Scientific results show, that more and more respondents in classical online surveys take part via mobile devices. Therefore it is important when setting up an online project to consider the mobile world as well.

Another benefit of mobile methods is measuring additional information like location where the mobile survey is filled in and upload of photos and videos giving lively and immediate impression of experiences in the environment. Multimedia test-material e.g. TV-spots, logos and advertising sujets can be included into mobile questionnaires as well.

Application fields of mobile surveys:

  • Evaluation of Mobile Marketing campaigns & mobile applications
  • Innovation- & trend-research
  • Customersatisfaction-studies
  • Advertising-tests

Mobile methods have some disadvantages which have to be taken into account. Even though mobile Internet usage is growing, representative surveys for the general population are not possible yet. Limitations result from mobile devices themselves and mobile communication technology, clumsy usability of particular mobile phones, small size of displays, different mobile platforms as well as low battery capacities. However, we are convinced that majority of these technical limitations will be solved in future.

We use professional survey software, which is capable  of displaying mobile questionnaires on several mobile platforms like iOS and Android in a user-friendly, comprehensible and comparable way.

In qualitative mobile-Blogging studies participants give better insights in their everyday life. In a kind of diary-method digital advantages are used: behavior, comments, personal pictures and videos can be captured for ethnographical research. Accordingly with the use of smartphones and its camera snapshots from people with whom respondents are together, streets, buildings and homes they live in are possible. An outstanding benefit in comparison to pure digital cameras is the transmission of photos and videos through wireless technology. This allows just-in time availability of data for researcher and client. Here you can download the doctorial dissertation of Emanuel Maxl about Mobile Market Research at the TU Ilmenau.

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website akzeptieren Sie den Einsatz von Cookies.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

context research

Homebanner

Mobile Methoden

Der Trend, das Festnetztelefon zugunsten eines Mobiltelefons aufzugeben, h√§lt weiter an. Nur mehr 50% aller Haushalte in √Ėsterreich verf√ľgt √ľber einen Festnetzanschluss. In Haushalten, die nur √ľber Mobiltelefone verf√ľgen, leben vor allem j√ľngere Personen mit (noch) geringem Haushaltseinkommen (Quelle: RTR). Um diese Menschen mit Marktforschung zu erreichen, bietet sich der mobile Kommunikationskanal an. Die starke Nutzung des mobilen Internets bei j√ľngeren Konsumenten bietet die Chance, diese Zielgruppe mit mobilen Forschungsmethoden zu erreichen. Auch Personen die aus beruflichen oder privaten Gr√ľnden h√§ufig unterwegs sind, k√∂nnen √ľber das Mobiltelefon befragt werden.

Mobile Methoden erm√∂glichen neue Formen der Datenerhebung. Mobile Markt- und Sozialforschung ist im engen Sinn der √úberbegriff f√ľr Forschungsmethoden, die die Funktionen von Mobiltelefonen, insbesondere Smartphones, abseits von Sprachtelefonie, ohne Interviewer-Unterst√ľtzung verwenden. Sie setzt die St√§rken der Mobilfunktechnologie als Kommunikationskanal zu und von den Menschen in der Forschung ein.

Eine wesentliche Eigenschaft von mobilen Erhebungsmethoden ist ihr kontextsensitiver Charakter, d.h. die Möglichkeit der Erfassung des Kontextes und damit Erreichbarkeit von Menschen in jenen Situationen, in denen sie sich gerade befinden. Mobile Forschungsmethoden dienen als Instrumente zu einem besseren Verständnis des Lebensumfeldes.

Die hohe Antwortgeschwindigkeit bei mobilen Web-Umfragen ist in Studien bereits mehrfach belegt. Innerhalb der ersten Stunde kann mit rund 50% R√ľcklauf der gesamten Stichprobe gerechnet werden. Dies ergibt sich durch die M√∂glichkeit der Orts- und zeitunabh√§ngigen Beantwortung, da nicht erst gewartet werden muss, bis ein PC mit Internetzugang verf√ľgbar ist. √úberall dort, wo Mobilfunknetzabdeckung oder WLAN gegeben ist, kann mit geeigneten mobilen Endger√§ten eine Umfrage beantwortet werden.

Webbasierte Umfragen, die auf Smartphones ausgef√ľllt werden, haben sich als mobile Erhebungsmethode bew√§hrt. Dabei erfolgt die Einladung zu den mobilen Umfragen per SMS, E-Mail oder passiv, in dem ein QR-Code von den Umfrageteilnehmern eingelesen wird der zur Befragung f√ľhrt. Links bzw. Banner zu mobilen Umfragen k√∂nnen auch in Apps integriert werden, um beispielsweise die Benutzbarkeit und Akzeptanz der Applikation zu √ľberpr√ľfen. Ergebnisse belegen, dass immer mehr Teilnehmer von klassischen Online-Umfragen diese √ľber mobile Endger√§te ausf√ľllen. Daher ist es bei der Konzeption von Online-Umfragen wesentlich, auch die mobile Erhebungssituation zu ber√ľcksichtigen.

Eine weitere St√§rke von mobilen Umfragen ist das Erfassen von zus√§tzlichen Informationen wie der Ort, an dem die mobile Umfrage ausgef√ľllt wird und Fotos und Videos, die einen unmittelbaren Eindruck vom Erlebten geben. Multimediales Testmaterial z.B. Werbesujets, Logos und TV-Spots kann in mobile Umfragen ebenfalls eingebunden werden.

Anwendungsm√∂glichkeiten f√ľr mobile Umfragen:

  • Evaluierung von Mobile Marketing Kampagnen & mobilen Applikationen
  • Innovations-& Trendforschung
  • Kundenzufriedenheitsbefragungen
  • Werbewirkungstests

Bei mobilen Umfragen sind jedoch auch Einschr√§nkungen zu beachten. Auf Grund der derzeitigen mobilen Internet-Nutzung sind bev√∂lkerungsrepr√§sentative mobile Umfragen noch nicht m√∂glich. Limitierungen ergeben sich auch durch die mobilen Endger√§ten und Mobilfunktechnologien selbst, d.h. die teilweise aufw√§ndige Benutzung der Ger√§te, geringe Displaygr√∂√üen, unterschiedliche mobile Betriebssysteme und begrenzte Akkulaufzeiten. Auf mobilen Endger√§ten werden offene Fragen weniger umfangreich ausgef√ľllt. Ein mobiler Fragebogen sollte daher kurz gehalten werden. Wir sind der √úberzeugung, dass derzeitige, m√∂gliche technische Limitierungen in Zukunft gel√∂st werden.

Wir nutzen eine professionelle Umfragesoftware, die mobile Online-Umfragen auf unterschiedlichen Endgeräten wie z.B. iOS und Android-Smartphones benutzerfreundlich und methodisch korrekt darstellt.

In qualitativen mobilen Blogging-Studien werden Einblicke in den Alltag von Menschen gegeben. Als digitale Version der klassischen Tagebuchmethode werden Verhaltensweisen, Kommentare und pers√∂nliche Aufnahmen und Videos f√ľr ethnographische Projekte von den Teilnehmern aufgezeichnet. Das Smartphone wird dabei eingesetzt, um beispielsweise Schnappsch√ľsse von Menschen, mit denen man gerade zusammen ist und von Wohnungen, Stra√üen oder Geb√§uden, wo man sich aufh√§lt, zu machen. Wesentliche Erg√§nzung zu reinen Digitalkameras ist die √úbermittlung per Mobilfunk und damit die zeitnahe Verf√ľgbarkeit der Daten.

Dr. Emanuel Maxl hat seine Dissertations-Schrift zu Mobiler Marktforschung an der TU Ilmenau verfasst. Hier können Sie die Dissertation downloaden

Durch die Nutzung dieser Website akzeptieren Sie den Einsatz von Cookies.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close